RB is for Red Beets

Standard

Are you a fan of red beets? I feel like people tend to have a strong opinion about beets. You either love them or can’t stand them. Our house is divided, I love them, my husband can’t stand them. We recently got some beets in our farm box. I think I was one of the very few people who did not try to switch them out for a different vegetable. I can’t say that I had ever had fresh beets before or that I had ever cooked them, but I have loved them since I was a little girl. Whenever my grandmother would take me out for lunch I would always get red beets from the salad bar. My guess is that they were probably canned, but I still loved them.

English: A bundle of organic beets from a loca...

A bundle of organic beets from a farm food co-op program. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

While beets contain a lot of natural sugar, they are very nutritious. They are low in cholesterol and saturated fat, but a good source of vitamin C and iron.

I searched and asked around for recipes. I wanted to pickle them and was looking for something simple and kind of traditional. I ended up mixing some recipes. I only had a few small ones too, so I just eyeballed everything. I was very surprised at how wonderful they tasted when simply boiled. My beets were still covered in dirt since they were fresh, so I had to wash them well before cooking. Also know that when cooked they are a purple-red and can stain. My fingers ended up bright purple-red from peeling them. I wonder if you could use them to dye things other than food, have you ever tried this?

So I cut the ends off my beets then placed the rest in boiling water until they were nice and tender. This took a while probably about 45 minutes even though they weren’t very big. I then took some paper towels and peeled them by rubbing the skin off with the paper towels. Then I sliced the beets into thin round pieces. I used apple cider vinegar and left over water from when I boiled them. I also added sliced onions, a little salt and a little sugar. I put it all in a mason jar, which I then let sit in the fridge for a few days.

I’m glad I pickled them, it was something that I had never done before. The result was pretty good, but next time I might try a different approach. What is your favorite way to eat red beets? Do you have a favorite red beets recipe?

Until next time!

Mariel

Leave a Reply

