Cheesy Kohlrabi Bake

Standard

Dear Kohlrabi, where have you been all my life? You are so funny looking, intimidating, yet taste so good. (If you didn’t know it by now, yes, I tend to be a little on the dramatic side.)

So I got my first ever Kohlrabi in my farm box last week. I had never seen one in my life. They are green (they also come in purple), round (about the size of a softball) and have stems sticking out from all over making them look like small alien heads. So fun!

I finally decided to tackle the Kohlrabi. When cooked it looks and tastes like broccoli stems, but it’s white instead of green. I made a cheesy Kohlrabi bake, I only had one so I tweaked the following recipe by Jennifer from Mother Thyme that I found on the Tasty Kitchen website.

http://tastykitchen.com/recipes/sidedishes/kohlrabi-and-cheese/

My tips (and I am no expert) for cooking Kohlrabi…

  • Make sure you peel it well. If you leave some of the peel on you’ll notice harder spots when biting into it. It’s not bad, just a weird, unexpected texture.
  • It takes a while in the oven, check it to make sure it is tender. I kept adding time to my oven.
  • Enjoy!
Here’s a picture of my Cheesy Kohlrabi Bake.

Cheesy Kohlrabi Bake (MW)

Do you have any favorite Kohlrabi recipes? I will be getting some cabbage and red beets soon and would love to hear how you prepare them.

Until next time!

Mariel

Leave a Reply

