Kale Chips

Standard

Hello everybody! We just got back from a fabulous vacation and I can’t wait to tell you about it. Unfortunately coming back from vacation is a lot of work so for now I will share this recipe with you and will share my vacation later.

We just joined a CSA. It’s our first time doing this and we are super excited. I’m also a bit nervous. I know I’m going to have to get creative in the kitchen and my monkeys (including Dad Monkey) are very picky about what they eat. This will be a fun adventure for all of us, hopefully I’ll find lots of good recipes out there I can share with you guys.

This was our first week getting a share. Among other things we got some Kale and Kohlrabi. Have you seen Kohlrabi before? They are funny looking vegetables, my first thought was an alien head.

kohlrabi

kohlrabi (Photo credit: Lawrence Farmers’ Market)

Today I made the Kale, which isn’t as crazy looking. I knew exactly what I wanted to make with it. I had heard a lot about Kale Chips and couldn’t wait to try them out. I searched online and found a recipe from a great website:  http://www.100daysofrealfood.com

The chips were so easy to make and you only need 3 ingredients: Kale, Olive Oil and Salt. I pretty much followed the recipe but didn’t really measure the ingredients. I also added a little salt to the Kale before cooking. They taste very different but kind of addictive.

Basically all you do is clean the Kale and tear it up into pieces getting rid of the stems including the one in the middle of the leaf. Warm your oven to 375. Sprinkle olive oil and salt on the Kale and mix. Spread on a cookie sheet so it’s a single layer then cook. I cooked it 5 minutes at a time flipping them before putting them back in. She warns that it is easy to over cook.

Here’s a link to the recipe, enjoy!

http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/2010/04/30/recipe-kale-chips-a-surprisingly-easy-and-delicious-veggie/

Do you have a favorite Kale recipe? Any suggestions as to what I should make with my alien looking Kohlrabi?

Until next time!

Mariel

 

Leave a Reply

